LPGA Tour’s final event to increase to $4 million starting next year…matching PGA Tour’s

The CME Group Tour Championship, the final event on the U.S. Women’s Professional Golf (LPGA) Tour, has significantly increased its total purse and winner’s share starting next year.

The LPGA Tour announced today that it has signed a two-year extension with CME Group, the title sponsor of the CME Group Tour Championship, and that starting next year, the winner of the CME Group Tour Championship will earn the same $4 million purse as the winner of a PGA Tour event. 캡틴토토 도메인

The total prize pool for the tournament will increase from $7 million to $11 million (approximately $14.36 billion) and the winner’s purse will double to $4 million from $2 million (approximately $2.61 billion). The winner will receive $4 million, the runner-up will receive $1 million, and the 60 finalists will be guaranteed at least $55,000 ($71.8 million).

“As a longtime supporter of women’s sports, we are pleased to continue our partnership with the LPGA to further enhance women’s golf,” said CME Group President Terry Duffy. “The increased prize money will bring more parity while making it more exciting for players and spectators.”

It is also significant that the prize pool for winning the final event will be the same as the prize pool for winning a PGA Tour event. The PGA Tour has eight extraordinary tournaments and pays $4 million to the winner. That’s not far off from the $4.5 million for the Players Championship, the fifth-most lucrative major on the PGA Tour.

LPGA Commissioner Molly Maku Thurman said, “CME Group has been a key part of the LPGA since 2011. With this extension, they have once again helped elevate the LPGA, women’s golf and women’s sports to unprecedented heights.”

The CME Group Tour Championship, the final event of the year on the LPGA Tour, will be held at Tiburon Golf Club (Par 72) in Naples, Florida, beginning July 17. Players ranked in the top 60 on the CME Globe will compete for the $2 million purse. Eight South Koreans will compete: Hyo Joo Kim (28), Jin Jin Ko (28), Hae Ran Hae (22), Hee Young Yang (34), Ji Eun Shin (31), Arim Kim (28), Hye Jin Choi (24), and Se Young Kim (30).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *